Governance and Nominations Committee


Ms Karen Vernon - Chair

CNon-executive Director and Chair of the Governance and Nominations Committee

Ms Karen Vernon is a barrister practising in Western Australia. She has a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) (1990) and a Bachelor of Laws (1994) from the University of WA.

Ms Vernon has practiced law for almost 25 years, beginning her career at national law firm Phillips Fox in 1994. She was a partner in a law firm for 6 years before working in London between 2003 and 2004, but returned to Perth when her father suffered a stroke. Upon her return to Perth, Ms Vernon worked as a prosecutor with the Commonwealth DPP prior to commencing practice as a barrister in 2005.

Ms Vernon is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia. Ms Vernon has held various company director and board positions over the last 15 years, including WA Bar Chambers Ltd, Vincentcare Advisory Board WA, and the Chair of the Homelessness and Mental Health Services Committee of the Society of St Vincent de Paul WA. In 2017 she was elected to local government as a councillor in the Town of Victoria Park, and is also a councillor on the Mindarie Regional Council. In 2018 she was appointed to the State Operations Committee of the Society of St Vincent de Paul WA. In 2019 Ms Vernon was elected Mayor of the Town of Victoria Park.


Professor James Angus

President and Non-executive Director

Professor Angus is an Honorary Professorial Fellow and Professor Emeritus in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences (MDHS), University of Melbourne. In July 2013 he completed a 10 year term as Dean of the Faculty of MDHS at the University of Melbourne. Before becoming Dean, he was Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacology and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of MDHS. At the University of Melbourne, Professor Angus has been President of the Academic Board (2000-2001), Pro Vice-Chancellor (1999-2001) and member of University Council (1999-2001).

Professor Angus was awarded the Gottschalk Medal of the Australian Academy of Science (1984), is a Fellow of the Academy (FAA) and has been a member of its Council. In 2003 he was awarded Australia’s Centenary Medal for contribution to Pharmacology and the Community.

Professor Angus was a First Vice-President of the International Union of Pharmacology (IUPHAR) and was President of the Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists. From 2009-2011 he was President of Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand.

His current roles include Chair, Australian Advisory Council on the Medicinal Use of Cannabis; Chair, Melbourne University Sport Advisory Board; Director, Jack Brockhoff Foundation; Director, National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia and Director, Science in Australia Gender Equity Ltd.

Professor Angus holds a Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Sydney, and received The Order of Australia in 2010 for distinguished service to biomedical research, particularly in the fields of pharmacology and cardiovascular disease, as a leading academic and medical educator, and as a contributor to a range of advisory boards and professional organisations both nationally and internationally.


Ms Sally Bateman<

BA (Public Relations), Grad Dip Psych, GAICD
Non-executive Director

Sally Bateman is the Chief Executive Officer of Make-A-Wish Australia, one of the country’s most inspirational charities for children.

A former Senior Publishing Executive, Sally was Penguin Random House’s inaugural Asia Pacific Director of Marketing, Publicity and Digital following the international merger of Penguin and Random House. Previously, she spent 17 years with Penguin Australia where she lead Marketing & Digital strategy during a decade of disruption.

Sally is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and holds a Bachelor of Arts, Public Relations and a Graduate Diploma of Psychology.


Mr Christopher Edwards

FCA, CPA, BSc Econ (Hons), GAICD
Vice-President, Non-executive Director and Chair of Audit, Finance, Investment & Risk Committee

Mr Chris Edwards is a senior finance executive with both Australian and international experience in CFO roles mostly in the financial services sector with companies including HSBC, Prudential Insurance and Colonial First State. He has also worked in the IT industry and at QANTAS.

In addition to financial responsibilities, Mr Edward’s roles have included responsibility for strategic and business planning, risk, internal audit/compliance, property management, investment management, customer service, and IT.

Mr Edwards has focussed on supporting the strategic and commercial operations of organisations by improving transparency of performance, ensuring that business decisions are based on sound analysis, prioritising scarce resources and by identifying risks together with minimising, monitoring and controlling their potential impact.

Mr Edwards holds a BSc(Econ) with Hons from the London School of Economics and trained as a Chartered Accountant with PwC in London, migrating to Sydney on qualifying. Mr Edwards is a member of CPA Australia and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Directors.