Menu

Write a letter to the editor of your newspaper

Letters to the editor are a great way to put attention on an issue.

You can find the address for letters to the editor of your local or metropolitan newspaper on their website.

How to get your letter in the paper:

  1. Include your story – Tell them who you are and why you care about stroke. A human angle will make the letter more powerful
  2. Why stroke is important – Include the fact that stroke is Australia’s second biggest cause of death and a leading cause of disability amongst adults.
  3. Tell them about Fight Stroke – Include the fact that we are trying to get as many people as possible to sign up to our campaign at www.fightstroke.com.au. This will help to raise the profile of stroke in Australia.
  4. Keep it short – Often newspapers don’t leave much space for letters, so it’s best to keep yours to no more than 200 words.
  5. Include your contact details – Most newspapers require your name, email address, postal address and daytime phone number. This is so they can verify who the letter is from, this information will not be published.
Let us know that you’ve sent it– It helps us greatly if we know how many people have written to their local newspaper. If you’re sending an email, please cc fightstroke@strokefoundation.com.au If you’re sending a letter, please also forward a copy to:

Fight Stroke
National Stroke Foundation
Level 7
461 Bourke Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000

If your letter gets published, we’d love to see a copy of that as well!

Here are contact details for the letters pages of major Australian newspapers:

National
The Australian – letters@theaustralian.com.au

Sydney
Sydney Morning Herald – letters@smh.com.au
Daily Telegraph – www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/opinion

Melbourne
The Age – www.theage.com.au/national/letters/submit
Herald Sun – www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion/letter

Brisbane
Courier Mail – www.couriermail.com.au/news/opinion/editorials/letters-form

Adelaide
Adelaide Advertiser – www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/opinion/send-letter

Perth
The West Australian – letters@wanews.com.au

Hobart
The Mercury – www.themercury.com.au/opinion/letter-to-the-editor-submit.html

Darwin
Northern Territory News – www.ntnews.com.au/ntnews/letter-to-the-editor.html