Perth doctor recognised as top stroke award finalist

September 17, 2019

Perth doctor, Kien Chan has been recognised for his extraordinary long-term dedication and commitment to stroke, becoming a finalist for the Stroke Foundation and Stroke Society of Australasia (SSA) 2019 Stroke Care Champion Award. 

Working from Osborne Park Hospital, the Head of Stroke Rehabilitation has dedicated his working life to ensuring stroke survivors receive the best care and rehabilitation outcomes possible. This includes being involved in a number of programs at the forefront of stroke research and technology, as well as following a patient’s journey after hospital to ensure they receive appropriate, holistic ongoing support.

Dr Chan said it was a great honour to be named as a finalist for the award.

“I see it as an acknowledgement of the efforts that my team and I have put into improving stroke care outcomes, and it affirms what we are doing is resonating with the stroke community,” Dr Chan said.

“I want all stroke patients and carers to be given the best possible chance of achieving their best possible outcome.” 

In being nominated for the award, Dr Chan was described as someone who was a strong advocate for stroke survivors, an exceptional leader in the field of stroke, and a superb clinician who is deeply compassionate towards patients and families.

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan congratulated Dr Chan on his achievement.

“Thank you to Dr Chan for his enormous commitment to improving stroke research and rehabilitation outcomes for stroke survivors,’’ Ms McGowan said.

“With almost 45,000 stroke survivors already living in the Western Australian community and more Australians surviving stroke than ever before, we need champions like Dr Chan to lead the way in stroke care.  

“Stroke is a devastating disease which attacks the brain and changes lives in an instant, but it can be treated and it can be beaten – there is life after stroke.”

There were around 20 nominations for 2019 Stroke Care Champion Award. Nominees included neurologists, stroke nurses, occupational therapists, psychologists and researchers, with three named as finalists. 

Dr Chan