Endowment Fund Management Committee

  • Chair - Mr Andrew Matthews
  • Professor Amanda Thrift
  • Associate Professor Coralie English
  • Mrs Lynette Glendinning


Mr Andrew Matthews FIAA, BCom, MSOD, GAICD
Chair of the Endowment Fund Management Committee

Andrew Matthews

Mr Andrew Matthews is an executive leader with experience in finance, actuarial and organisational development.  Andrew is currently Chief Actuary of Medibank Private Limited with responsibilities for governance, capital management and pricing. He has more than 25 years’ experience in financial services in roles including: as a Partner at Ernst & Young, in a range of leadership roles in actuarial practice across IAG and CGU Insurance, National Mutual, Trowbridge Consulting and the Transport Accident Commission.

Mr Matthews passionately believes in connecting the commercial and the humanistic; the contemporary and the indigenous; and the diversity of teams to create an environment for growth.  He is a stroke survivor after experiencing a stroke in 2016 and benefitting from the support of The Stroke Foundation.

Mr Matthews holds a BCom from the University of Melbourne, a Master of Science (Organizational Development) from Pepperdine University in California, and Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries Australia. Mr Matthews is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and holds an accreditation in executive coaching.


Professor Amanda Thrift BSc(Hons), PhD, PGDipBiostat

Amanda Thrift

Professor Thrift is Head of Stroke and Ageing Research and Senior Research Fellow at Monash University. She is a past President of the Stroke Society of Australasia and sits on numerous national and international advisory groups.

Professor Thrift gained her PhD from Monash University in 1995 in epidemiology in the study of risk factors for intracerebral haemorrhage. She has considerable research expertise in the epidemiology of stroke, having led the influential North East Melbourne Stroke Incidence Study (NEMESIS). This study has provided much of the evidence base for policy decisions around stroke in Australia. Her current portfolio of research include NHMRC funded studies of implementation of secondary prevention of stroke and vascular disease in Australia, and studies of causal factors for vascular disease and hypertension in low and middle income countries. In 2017, she was recognised for her work via receipt of the Excellence in Stroke Award, the highest honour awarded by the Stroke Society of Australasia.


Associate Professor Coralie English

Coralie English

Associate Professor Coralie English provides independent advice and expertise in stroke-related research to the Committee. Coralie English is a physiotherapist and an experienced stroke clinical trialist. She leads a team of researchers within the Priority Research Centre for Stroke and Brain Injury, Hunter Medical Research Institute and teaches into the Physiotherapy Program at the University of Newcastle.

Coralie's research career began in 2000, when she undertook a PhD at the University of South Australia. A/Prof English’s professional network extends to national and international collaborations and professional committees.


Mrs Lynette Glendinning

Mrs Lynette Glendinning, representative for the Tim Glendinning Memorial Fund.