media release



Monday 19 October 2015

Finalists announced in the 2015 Stroke Awards

Twenty-four outstanding Australians have been named as finalists in the 2015 Stroke Awards.

Finalists were chosen from more than 60 nominations received across four diverse categories - improving life after stroke, creativity, fundraising and stroke care.

The Awards aim to shine the spotlight on the health professionals, stroke survivors, carers and volunteers making a difference to the state of stroke in Australia.

Achievements of this year's outstanding finalists included:

- Founding stroke choirs and support groups to help survivors in their recovery
- Advocating for culturally appropriate care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander stroke survivors
- Improving access to best practice stroke care and treatment
- Performing a TEDx talk to raise awareness of stroke
- Fundraising to improve support for stroke survivors, families and carers.

National Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Dr Erin Lalor congratulated all 24 finalists.

"This year's finalists are shining examples of people going above and beyond to lessen the significant burden stroke places on our community," Dr Lalor said.

"From establishing a stroke choir that helps survivors regain their voice, to driving significant systematic changes to improve how stroke is treated, each finalist is making a difference.

"The efforts of the finalists recognised in this year's Stroke Awards go a long way to supporting the more than 440,000 stroke survivors living in our community.

"I'm certain the Award finalists will inspire other Australians to look at what they can do raise awareness of stroke and lessen its considerable impact," she said.

The winners of the 2015 Stroke Awards will be announced in November. More information about the Awards and the finalists is available at https://www.strokefoundation.com.au/news/2015/10/19/stroke-awards

Interviews and images available on request.

National Stroke Foundation Media Contact: Rachel Murphy

e) media@strokefoundation.com.au p) 03 9670 1000 m) 0408 000 409

media release



Improving Life After Stroke Award finalists

This category recognises stroke survivors, carers and members of the general public who work to improve the state of stroke in a voluntary capacity.

Kaddie Alcock (NSW)

Peter Coghlan (WA)

Gudju Gudju (Seith) Fourmile (QLD)

Emma Gee (VIC)

Graeme Hilson (VIC)

Lewis Hoffman (QLD)

Neville Kerr (QLD)

Wendy Lyons (VIC)

Creative Award finalists

This category recognises stroke survivors' contribution to creative industries.

Danny Furlong (VIC)

Kate and Jacky Laird (QLD)

David Roland (NSW)

Ross Waldron (NSW)

Fundraiser of the Year Award finalists

This category recognises individuals who have gone above and beyond in fundraising for the National Stroke Foundation.

Belinda Cipriano & Daniela Mastrocola (WA)

Tony Finneran (NSW)

Alexandra Hall (QLD)

Janet Hoffman (NSW)

Michael Scott (VIC)

Stroke Care Champion Award finalists

This category recognises health professionals in the field of stroke.

Dr Rohan Grimley (QLD) - winner, announced at Stroke 2015 Conference

Rachel Peake (NSW)

Barbara Wolfenden (VIC)

Dr Lavinia Codd (QLD)

Sarah Kuhle (QLD)

Alisha Anderson (WA)

Larissa Andriske (VIC)