2019 Stroke Award Winners Announced

May 07, 2019
A stroke survivor known as “the Saxy Lady”, a personal trainer who raised more than $50,000 and an internationally recognised researcher are among the winners of the Stroke Foundation’s 2019 Stroke Awards.

The awards, presented at the Melbourne Town Hall on May 7, celebrated the unsung heroes across Australia who have worked tirelessly to improve the lives of people affected by stroke.

The winners were chosen from almost 70 nominations in six categories: Creative, Fundraiser of the Year, Courage, Volunteer of the Year, President’s Achievement and Improving Life after Stroke. 

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan congratulated the winners for their remarkable achievements.

“I could not be more impressed with these outstanding individuals who have demonstrated passion and commitment to raise awareness of stroke and reduce its burden in our community,” Ms McGowan said. 

“The Stroke Foundation strives to prevent stroke, save lives and enhance recovery. The selfless actions of the Stroke Awards nominees, finalists and winners plays an important role in that mission.” 

For more information about the 2019 Stroke Awards

Achievements of this year’s winners included:

Creative Award
Recognises stroke survivors’ contribution to creative industries. Lynette “Saxy Lady” Gordon-Smith (Allora, QLD)
For proving health professionals wrong by successfully playing her saxophone after stroke. Her performances and CDs raise money for the Stroke Foundation.  

Fundraiser of the Year Award 
Recognises individuals who have gone above and beyond in fundraising for the Stroke Foundation. Jo Cordell Cooper (Geilston Bay, TAS)
For establishing Tasmanian Iconic Walks, a fundraising trek through the Tasman National Park. Jo and her team have raised more than $50,000 in two years. 

Courage Award
Recognises the indomitable courage and hope shown by survivors and carers in stroke recovery. Tracy and Stephen Ward (Denman, NSW)
For tenacity in recovery from stroke and ongoing advocacy efforts, including playing a key role in securing Federal Government funding for stroke research and providing a voice for people affected by stroke in regional Australia.  

Volunteer of the Year Award 
Recognises those outstanding volunteers whose dedicated service has made a significant difference. Kevin English (Albert Park, VIC) 
For his ongoing work with Stroke Foundation as a member of the Consumer Council and StrokeSafe Ambassador and commitment to stemming the tide of stroke. 

President’s Achievement Award
Recognises exceptional dedication, outstanding contributions and exemplary service to the Stroke Foundation. Professor Dominique Cadilhac (VIC)
For her extensive contributions to stroke research and public health policy.

Improving Life after Stroke Award 
Celebrates those who voluntarily dedicate their time to improving the care and support of stroke survivors in the community. Stephanie Ho (Darlinghurst, NSW)
For giving back to the community after her own stroke through participation in stroke and rehabilitation boards, public speaking and supporting other young stroke survivors.