Dr Mark Mackay a true stroke champion

July 20, 2016

Melbourne Paediatric Neurologist Dr Mark Mackay has been recognised as the 2016 Stroke Care Champion for his outstanding dedication and commitment to Australia’s youngest stroke patients.

Working out of the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne, Dr Mackay has worked tirelessly to increase the awareness of childhood stroke and improve the quality of care child stroke patients receive.

Dr Mackay will be acknowledged by his peers as the 2016 Stroke Care Champion, at the 2016 Asia Stroke Pacific Conference in Brisbane. Dr Mackay said he was humbled and honoured to have his work recognised.

“I am honoured to receive this award as it acknowledges the importance of my work to improve outcomes for children and families affected by stroke,” Dr Mackay said.

“Stroke is among the top ten causes of death in children, more than half the survivors have long term disabilities, and stroke is the most common cause of cerebral palsy in term babies.

“I am proud my work has improved knowledge of risk factors for childhood stroke, improved understanding of factors contributing to the excessive delays to diagnosis in children, and improved understanding of outcomes following stroke.

“It is vital we ensure that children receive the same benefits of advances in stroke care that have transformed outcomes for adults, and to ensure families receive appropriate information about causes of stroke and potential consequences of stroke for their child.”

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan it was a pleasure to recognise Dr Mackay with this award, recognising his outstanding and ongoing commitment to paediatric stroke.

“Dr Mackay’s unrelenting passion and commitment to his patients is to be commended. There is no doubt, Dr Mackay is changing the way we treat childhood stroke in this country,’’ Ms McGowan said.

“A leading clinician recognised locally and nationally for his expertise and advocacy for paediatric stroke patients, Dr Mackay is leading the development of national guidelines to improve diagnosis, treatment and care of children and babies diagnosed with stroke.

“It has been great honour, in conjunction with the Stroke Society of Australasia, to announce Dr Mark Mackay as the 2016 Stroke Care Champion Award and we thank him for his dedication to changing the state of stroke in Australia.”

Dr Mackay was among seven health professionals put forward by their peers due to their commitment to improving the state of stroke in Australia. Stroke Society of Australiasia President Professor Mark Parsons said each nominee was a true champion of stroke and deserved to be commended.

“Dr Mackay and the Stroke Care Champion finalists are shining examples of clinicians going above and beyond to lessen the significant burden stroke places on our community,” Professor Parsons said.

“I am certain they will inspire other health professionals in their work to prevent, treat and manage stroke.”

The 2016 Stroke Awards recognise Australia’s unsung heroes of stroke. More than 120 people were nominated for an award this year across five diverse categories including; improving life after stroke.

Dr Mark Mackay a true stroke champion creative, courage, fundraising and stroke care. Run in conjunction with the Stroke Society of Australasia, the Stroke Care Champion award aims to recognise formidable health professionals in the field of stroke.

The Stroke Care Champion award finalists were:
Dr Mark Mackay, Consultant Neurologist, Royal Children’s Hospital (Victoria)
Brain Waves Program Staff, Monash Health (Victoria)
Carolyn Beltrame, Registered Nurse, La Trobe Regional Hospital (Victoria)
Associate Professor, Dr Martin Roderick Jude, Consultant Neurologist, Wagga Wagga Base
Hospital, Calvary Hospital Wagga (New South Wales)
Kaia Leo, speech pathologist, Caboolture Hospital (Queensland)
Beverley Macdonald RN, Stroke Liaison Nurse, Campbelltown Hospital (New South Wales)
Dr Ruth Barker, physiotherapist and researcher, James Cook University (Queensland)

The judging committees across categories were made up of health professionals, industry experts and media personalities. Judges were unanimous in commending all those nominated.