Amazing Australians honoured at 2023 Stroke Awards

May 04, 2023

Children, artists and volunteers are among the nine amazing Australians to be named the winner of a 2023 Stroke Award in Melbourne today.  

The awards recognise the inspirational Australians who make a positive difference for survivors of stroke and their families. The winners were chosen from an impressive range of nominations from across Australia.  

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Dr Lisa Murphy congratulated the worthy winners for their remarkable efforts. 

“The Stroke Awards shine a light on the amazing people in our community who are making life better for survivors of stroke, and reducing the burden of stroke in our community,” Dr Lisa Murphy said. 

“The calibre of winners at this year’s event demonstrates the passion, care and dedication we have in our community. That includes survivors of stroke, carers, family members, volunteers, health professionals and researchers.  

Melbourne-based neurological team Professor Geoff Donnan AO and Professor Stephen Davis AO were named winners of the prestigious President’s Achievement Award which acknowledges people who have made a significant contribution to Stroke Foundation’s mission to reduce the impact of stroke in our community.  

“We are humbled by the efforts of our community in making the future brighter for people with stroke,” Dr Murphy said.  

“We received more than 50 nominations across the seven Stroke Award categories, and we’re proud to know every single one of them. I thank each and every individual nominated for an award for their contribution and support, and I congratulate the winners for their remarkable achievements.”  

A stroke happens every 19 minutes in Australia, and there are almost 450,000 people living with the impacts of stroke. It attacks the brain and can happen to anyone at any age, at any time. Knowing the F.A.S.T signs of stroke saves lives.  

For more information about stroke, how to recognise the signs, and manage the risks, visit our website 

2023 Stroke Award Winners

Improving Life after Stroke Award finalists – Proudly sponsored by Australian Physiotherapy Association. This category recognises those who voluntarily dedicate their time to improving the care and support of survivors of stroke in the community. 

  • Priya Sharma – West Pennant Hills, NSW 

Creative Award finalists – Proudly sponsored by Allevi8. This category recognises stroke survivors’ contribution to creative industries including writing, photography, music and fine art.  

  • Doug Hemming – Clayfield, QLD 

Fundraiser of the Year Award finalists – Proudly sponsored by Precision Fundraising. This category recognises a fundraiser who has gone above and beyond to help raise awareness and funds for stroke in Australia.   

  • Dan Maitland, Mordialloc, VIC  

Courage Award finalists – Proudly sponsored by Ipsen. This category recognises the courage and hope shown by survivors and carers in stroke recovery. 

  • Nicole Gallacher – Mount Evelyn, VIC

Volunteer of the Year Award finalists – Proudly sponsored by NAB Community. This category recognises outstanding volunteers whose dedicated service has made a significant difference. 

  • Tony Finneran – Padstow, NSW 

Stroke Warrior Awards finalists – Proudly sponsored by AbbVie. This category recognises the contribution of a person under 18 in stroke awareness, fundraising or advocacy.  

  • Jackson King – Buderim, QLD 
  • Noah Barlow – Bacchus Marsh, VIC

President's Achievement Award

  • Professor Geoff Donnan AO and Professor Stephen Davis AO - Melbourne, VIC


The 2023 Stroke Awards are supported by Major Sponsor, Bristol Myers Squibb - Pfizer, and Award Sponsors AbbVie, Allevi8, Australian Physiotherapy Association, Ipsen, NAB Community, and Precision Fundraising, agency of Precision Group