Stroke Foundation Awards

Nominations are now closed. Finalists will be announced soon!

Do you know one of the thousands of unsung heroes working tirelessly to make a difference for the stroke community?

With more than 475,000 people currently living with stroke in Australia we know there are many remarkable stories of resilience, dedication and commitment that deserve to be celebrated.

The Stroke Awards are our way of thanking the incredible survivors, carers, healthcare workers and volunteers who every day go above and beyond to make things better for Australians impacted by stroke. Everyone has a unique story to tell and we want to hear yours as part of the Stroke Awards.

The Stroke Awards recognise Australia’s unsung heroes of stroke. These awards pay tribute to the stroke survivors, carers, volunteers and health professionals making a difference to the state of stroke in Australia.

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Stroke Care Champion Award. Nominations for the remaining Stroke Award categories are set to open later in 2019.

Stroke Awards Sponsors


Stroke Care Champion Award

(in conjunction with the Stroke Society of Australasia)

Nominations now closed. Finalists will be announced soon!

The Stroke Care Champion Award shines a light on health professionals and researchers working tirelessly to improve the lives of survivors, their families and carers.  We want them to know that their contribution to the lives of stroke patients, survivors and carers is vital and does not go unnoticed.

Held in conjunction with the Stroke Society of Australasia, the Stroke Care Champion Award is open to health professionals and social care professionals who have demonstrated a long-term commitment of at least five years in the field of stroke.

The winner will be announced at Stroke 2019: The 29th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Stroke Society of Australasia in Canberra during September.

For any enquires about the awards email or call the Stroke Foundation on (03) 9670 1000.

See profiles of last year’s recipient and nominees

Other categories and previous winners

Improving Life After Stroke Award

Proudly sponsored by Australian Physiotherapy Association

This award celebrates those who voluntarily dedicate their time to improving the care and support of stroke survivors in the community. This category is open to stroke survivors, carers, and volunteers who are making a big difference to the lives of survivors and raising awareness of their needs.

  • Ms Priya Sharma
  • Mr Bill Gooley
  • Ms Emma Gee
  • Ms Hailey Anna McKirdy
  • Ms Stephanie Ho
  • Ms Sue Bowden

Creative Award

Proudly sponsored by Marmalade Melbourne

This category aims to celebrate stroke survivors’ contribution to creative industries, including writing, photography, music and fine art. The award is open to stroke survivors in the community who are actively pursuing creative achievements. The only requirements to apply for this award are that you are a stroke survivor and you have a specific creative project to share.

  • Mr Dane Peters
  • Ms Lynette Gordon-Smith
  • Ms Maria Lewis
  • Mr Michael Robert Young

Fundraiser of the Year Award

Proudly sponsored by Precision Fundraising

This award aims to recognise a fundraiser who has gone above and beyond to help raise awareness and funds for stroke in Australia. It is open to individuals who have fundraised for the Stroke Foundation.

  • Ms Helen Woodhouse
  • Ms Hannah Crole
  • Mr Lachlan Stephenson
  • Mr Ernesto Diaz
  • Ms Jo Cordell-Cooper

Courage Award

Recovering from stroke can be an uphill battle. The Courage Award recognises the indomitable courage and hope shown by survivors and carers in facing stroke recovery. This category is open to survivors and carers and celebrates individual recovery and resilience.

  • Mr Rob Goyen
  • Mr Shane Isles
  • Ms Tania Shirgwin
  • Ms Tracy and Stephen Ward
  • Ms Brooke Parsons

Volunteer of the Year Award

The Volunteer of the Year Award has been created to recognise those outstanding volunteers whose dedicated service has made a significant difference.

  • Ms Shelagh Brennand
  • Ms Denise McGaw
  • Ms Tracey Arendse
  • Mr Kevin English
  • Mr Nic Stephen

President’s Achievement Award

The President’s Achievement Award acknowledges exceptional individuals who have made a significant contribution to Stroke Foundation.

  • Professor Dominique Cadilhac
  • Mr Tony Finneran
  • Professor Mark Brooks

Got a question?

Check out our frequently asked question section and guide for help on making a nomination for the Stroke Awards.