Selfless stroke survivor nominated for national award

April 06, 2023

A passionate stroke survivor who created a support group for people with an acquired brain injury has been nominated for a 2023 Stroke Foundation Stroke Award.  

Oldbury’s Gregg Oughton has been named a finalist in the Improving Life After Stroke Award for his role in creating Perth’s Kings Park Warriors. 

The father-of-two was inspired to create the group after feeling isolated following his own stroke in 2017. 

“When I left hospital I saw the need for a stroke support group for likeminded people to come together and talk about how they’re feeling. Fast forward five years we’ve now created four groups and the members get so much out of it,” Gregg said. 

“I feel really privileged to have been nominated for a Stroke Award. We don’t do what we do for the accolades, so it’s amazing to be acknowledged.” 

He says the support group has made a positive impact on his own stroke recovery and his mental health. The success of the King’s Park group has also led to the creation of three more in Rockingham, Guildford and Mullaloo.  

Stroke strikes the brain and can change lives in an instant. More than 27,000 Australians have a stroke each year.  

Stroke Foundation Interim Chief Executive Officer John De Rango applauded Gregg for his achievements. 

“Gregg’s work in establishing a safe place for survivors of stroke to visit each week is admirable. Support groups can be pivotal in a survivor’s recovery journey,” he said.  

“Not only are the Kings Park Warrior’s helping hundreds of Western Australia survivors of stroke, it’s also assisting Gregg through his own recovery.”  

The Stroke Awards celebrate the unsung heroes in our community who go above and beyond to improve the lives of Australians affected by stroke. This includes the survivors of stroke, carers, volunteers, fundraisers, health professional, researchers and members of the community.    

The Improving Life after Stroke category recognises those who voluntarily dedicate their time to improving the care and support of stroke survivors in the community. It is proudly sponsored by Australian Physiotherapy Association.     

The finalists are:  

  • Gregg Oughton, Western Australia  
  • Priya Sharma, New South Wales  
  • Letisha Kalnins, Queensland  

There are seven categories in total: Stroke Warrior, Improving Life after Stroke, Creative, Courage, Fundraiser of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and President’s Achievement.    

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on May 4, 2023.

The 2023 Stroke Awards are supported by Major Sponsor, Bristol Myers Squibb - Pfizer, and Award Sponsors AbbVie, Allevi8, Australian Physiotherapy AssociationIpsen, NAB Community, and Precision Fundraising, agency of Precision Group