Tireless Tony honoured for giving back

April 18, 2023

A Padstow man who has helped educate hundreds has been nominated for a 2023 Stroke Award.  

Tony Finneran, a passionate StrokeSafe Speaker has been nominated in the Volunteer of the Year category. 

Tony experienced a lifechanging stroke on Easter Sunday in 2013, aged just 55. He spent three weeks in a coma and had to re-learn to walk, talk, feed himself and communicate.  

With a particular passion for educating Culturally and Linguistically Diverse communities, Tony has given talks to audiences who speak Vietnamese, Mandarin and Italian, with the help of a translator. He said he’s proud to share his experience. 

“I get a lot of satisfaction from volunteering, it’s really inspiring to be able to share my own lived experience and make people aware about stroke,” Mr Finneran said. 

“I really enjoy engaging with the audience, it’s amazing what one StrokeSafe talk can do. Volunteering for Stroke Foundation is my way of giving back, and if I can save a life then it’s a bonus.” 

Tony is also a member of the Stroke Foundation Consumer Council and also runs his own Stroke Support Group in Bankstown.  

The Stroke Awards celebrate the unsung heroes in our community who go above and beyond to improve the lives of Australians affected by stroke. This includes the survivors of stroke, carers, volunteers, fundraisers, health professionals, researchers, and members of the community.   

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Dr Lisa Murphy congratulated Tony for his nomination.  

“Tony is an asset to our organisation in so many ways. He delivers such engaging talks and is a great asset to our StrokeSafe program,” she said. 

“Stroke Foundation would not be what it is today without the tireless work of our volunteers like Tony who give up their own free time to make people aware of their stroke risks.” 

The Volunteer of the Year category recognises those outstanding volunteers whose dedicated service has made a significant difference.    

The finalists are:  

  • Kris Vanston – Melbourne, VIC    
  • Tony Finneran – Padstow, NSW    
  • Lillian Chen – Strathfield, NSW     

There are seven categories in total: Stroke Warrior, Improving Life after Stroke, Creative, Courage, Fundraiser of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and President’s Achievement.     

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on May 4, 2023. 

The 2023 Stroke Awards are supported by Major Sponsor, Bristol Myers Squibb - Pfizer, and Award Sponsors AbbVie, Allevi8, Australian Physiotherapy AssociationIpsen, NAB Community, and Precision Fundraising, agency of Precision Group