World-leading neurological team take out prestigious Stroke Award

May 04, 2023

Two of the brightest minds in stroke in Australia have claimed the top gong at the 2023 Stroke Awards.  

Professor Geoff Donnan AO and Professor Stephen Davis AO were today named the recipients of the prestigious President’s Achievement Award at the national awards ceremony in Melbourne. 

The award acknowledges people who have made a significant contribution to Stroke Foundation’s mission to reduce the impact of stroke in our community.  

Professors Donnan and Davis have been working together for the past 30 years. The pair spearheaded Australia’s first mobile stroke ambulance and are leading international innovations with the Stroke Golden Hour project. 

They have worked alongside government, academic, health, consumer, and commercial agencies to develop world-first technologies to transform access to early pre-hospital treatments and to dramatically improve stroke outcomes for all Australians. 

Professors Donnan and Davis were former Directors of the Stroke Foundation Board and appointed as honorary life members in 2016. The President’s Achievement Award was presented to them by Stroke Foundation President Professor Linda Kristjanson AO.  

“Professors Donnan and Davis are at the forefront of stroke treatment in Australia,” Professor Kristjanson AO stated. 

“They consistently ground their research and clinical innovation in the lived experience of people affected by stroke. Their deep empathy and commitment to improved health care services guides their work. The Stroke Foundation is proud to be a core partner of this vital research program. 

“Professors Donnan and Davis ensure that there is consumer representation and genuine consultation throughout this project. Their work to create faster diagnosis and treatment of stroke gives Australians the best possible opportunity for survival and recovery, and represents a step-change in how stroke symptoms are managed.” 

The Stroke Awards celebrate the unsung heroes in our community who go above and beyond to improve the lives of Australians affected by stroke. This remarkable group of stroke heroes includes survivors of stroke, carers, volunteers, fundraisers, health professionals, researchers, and generous members of the community. 

There are seven award categories in total: Stroke Warrior, Improving Life after Stroke, Creative, Courage, Fundraiser of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and President’s Achievement. 

The 2023 Stroke Awards are supported by Major Sponsor, Bristol Myers Squibb - Pfizer, and Award Sponsors AbbVie, Allevi8, Australian Physiotherapy AssociationIpsen, NAB Community, and Precision Fundraising, agency of Precision Group