Governance and Nominations Committee

  • Chair – Karen Vernon 
  • James Angus AO
  • Sally Bateman
  • Chris Edwards


Ms Karen Vernon  BA(Hons) LLB GAICD

Karen Vernon
Ms Karen Vernon is a barrister practicing at Francis Burt Chambers in Western Australia.  Ms Vernon graduated from the University of Western Australia with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in 1990 and a Bachelor of Laws in 1994.

She has practiced law for over 20 years, beginning her career at national law firm Phillips Fox in 1994, before becoming a partner of Metaxas & Vernon in 1999.  Ms Vernon worked in London between 2003 and 2004 at law firm William Sturges, but returned to Perth when her father suffered a stroke.  Upon her return to Perth, Ms Vernon worked as a senior legal officer with the Commonwealth DPP before joining the independent bar in 2005.  Her diverse practice areas include commercial litigation, criminal law and industrial relations, and she has represented individual, corporate and national clients across Australia in the High Court, Federal Court, national commissions and all jurisdictions within WA.

Ms Vernon has been a company director and board member of a number of organisations during the last 15 years, and currently sits on the board of WA Bar Chambers Ltd and on the advisory board of Vincentcare WA, a charity providing mental health supported accommodation and recovery services.


Professor James Angus AO FAA, BSc (Syd), PhD (Syd) 

Jim Angus 

Professor Angus is an Honorary Professorial Fellow and Professor Emeritus in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences (MDHS), University of Melbourne. In July 2013 he completed a 10 year term as Dean of the Faculty of MDHS at the University of Melbourne. Before becoming Dean, he was Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacology and Deputy Dean of the Faculty of MDHS. At the University of Melbourne, Professor Angus has been President of the Academic Board (2000-2001), Pro Vice-Chancellor (1999-2001) and member of University Council (1999-2001)

Professor Angus was awarded the Gottschalk Medal of the Australian Academy of Science (1984), is a Fellow of the Academy (FAA) and has been a member of its Council. In 2003 he was awarded Australia’s Centenary Medal for contribution to Pharmacology and the Community.

Professor Angus was a First Vice-President of the International Union of Pharmacology (IUPHAR) and was President of the Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists. From 2009-2011 he was President of Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand.
His current roles include Chair, Independent Medical Advisory Board for Medicinal Cannabis, Board Member of the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Chair, Melbourne University Sport Advisory Board and Director, Jack Brockhoff Foundation.

Professor Angus holds a Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Sydney, and was appointed an officer to The Order of Australia in 2010 for distinguished service to biomedical research, particularly in the fields of pharmacology and cardiovascular disease, as a leading academic and medical educator, and as a contributor to a range of advisory boards and professional organisations both nationally and internationally.

Ms Sally Bateman BA RMIT, MAICD

Ms Sally Bateman is a senior executive with extensive experience in consumer marketing and digital strategy. During the past decade she has held leadership roles at Penguin Australia, and Penguin Random House Asia Pacific where she was Director of Digital, Marketing & Publicity and led regional strategy and the digital business.

Over the years Sally’s initiatives have featured in leading marketing and digital media, and the teams she developed and mentored have won local and international industry, retail and innovation awards. A former Victorian board member of AIMIA, the industry body for interactive content and digital media in Australia, Sally is a passionate advocate for new technology and driving digital innovation in organisations.

Sally hold a Bachelor Arts in Public Relations from RMIT, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Christopher Edwards FCA, CPA, BSc(Econ) with Hons, GAICD

Mr Chris Edwards is a senior finance executive with both Australian and international experience in CFO roles mostly in the financial services sector with companies including HSBC, Prudential Insurance and Colonial First State. He has also worked in the IT industry and at QANTAS. 

In addition to financial responsibilities, Mr Edward’s roles have included responsibility for strategic and business planning, risk, internal audit/compliance, property management, investment management, customer service, and IT. 

Mr Edwards has focussed on supporting the strategic and commercial operations of organisations by improving transparency of performance, ensuring that business decisions are based on sound analysis, prioritising scarce resources and by identifying risks together with minimising, monitoring and controlling their potential impact. 

Mr Edwards holds a BSc(Econ) with Hons from the London School of Economics and trained as a Chartered Accountant with PwC in London, migrating to Sydney on qualifying. Mr Edwards is a member of CPA Australia and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Directors.